I recently had a problem with the ATI Radeon driver in my HP Envy 15 laptop. The driver wasn’t working properly but I couldn’t install or uninstall it because the installmanagerapp.exe program kept crashing. Installmanagerapp.exe seems to be a sort of launcher which ATI use to handle the installation of the driver. I tried many things, including the Microsoft installer clean-up utility, but nothing worked. In the end, I was able to reinstall the drivers from the command line, bypassing the installmanagerapp.exe program. Here’s how:

First of all, locate the folder where the ATI drivers have been expanded. I use Windows 7 64 bit, so look for a subfolder called Bin64. This folder contains the troublesome installmanagerapp.exe! Also in that folder you will find a command line utility called atisetup.exe. Start a Command Prompt (run as Administrator) and try running atisetup.exe – you’ll see a whole load of command line options. I simply followed the first example (ATISetup.exe -Install -output screen) and it successfully installed the driver and the Catalyst Control Panel.

I hope that workaround helps someone else with the same problem. Here’s hoping ATI sort out installmanagerapp in the future…

