I’m currently slogging my way through learning Entity Framework. I saw it demonstrated at an NHS Scotland developers’ network event and was inspired to give it a try. I think the way I’ve been using TableAdapters and classes is not too far from what Entity Framework does, but obviously EF makes things a lot easier and more robust. It also forces me to make sure my database table relationships are in good order, which is no bad thing ;)

As part of getting into EF, one of the technologies which I’m learning for first time is LINQ. Yes, I know, I should have been looking at it long before this, but that’s just the way things worked out. Anyway, thanks to the Programming Entity Framework book from by Julia Lerman, I’ve found LINQPad. What a wonderful utility this is. Not only can I immediately see potential for more efficient and satisfying database querying, but it also works as a way of knocking up quick bits of test code in C#. If you’re learning LINQ then I’d say you can’t do without LINQPad. Hopefully the boss will let me buy the autocomplete version…

