crazy HP envy 15 feature keys

My day-job computer is a HP Envy 15. It’s generally speaking a good, fast machine. But it has a couple of serious defects: one is the dreadful battery life, the other is the truly awful addition of a row of “feature” keys on the left-hand side of the keyboard. Using KeyTweak, I was able to disable or re-map all the keys except the Print key. That key sends the standard Windows key combination CTRL+p, and thus cannot be re-mapped because it’s sending two keystrokes rather than one. I’ve lived with this for the past couple of years, but I’m constantly hitting that Print key and opening up modal print dialogs all over the place. It’s particularly galling given the fact that I can’t remember the last time I actually had to print something! More than once I’ve considered simply ripping the key out of the keyboard…  Anyway, today I managed to bypass the problem by using Autohotkey:

  1. Download and install Autohotkey.
  2. Create a text file in your startup folder called something like disableprint.ahk
  3. Save the text file with the following content:   ^p::return
  4. The script will run on login and prevent CTRL+p from ever working again…

I realise this is old hat to most folk, but I really struggled to find a straight answer to disabling the Windows print shortcut, hence this post. Perhaps it will help someone else in the same situation.

