Here’s a good article about the decline of RSS. I think it is quite accurate albeit very disappointing. I think the author is quite correct that Google Reader has effectively killed RSS basically by being very good at it and thereby pushing out all the other players. It’s a huge problem for me because I encourage people to use newsfeeds to monitor stuff on our internal network, and of course Google Reader doesn’t work when the source is behind a corporate firewall. So we have to fall back on email once again, which is truly soul-destroying. Sooner or later surely the penny will drop in corporate culture and RSS (or something very similar) will be resurrected to help destroy email. At least, I hope so.

It’s also very distressing to see that my favourite newsfeed aggregator Newsgator has chosen to focus pretty much exclusively on customising Sharepoint, which is of no use to me whatsoever. But I guess they have no choice with Google Reader so predominant.

And yes, I too was very annoyed when Twitter and Facebook killed their RSS feeds! There are some Twitter users that you just want to read at leisure rather than it be part of your timeline – newsfeed subscription is a much better way to do that than Lists or extra accounts or whatever. RSS is a silo-busting technology, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that so many companies are happy to block it.

 

